Join the ACLU Foundation of Massachusetts for our annual Bill of Rights Dinner on Friday, September 20, 2024, at 5:30 p.m. at the Omni Boston Hotel at the Seaport. 


We are excited to gather with ACLU supporters and champions from across the Commonwealth to celebrate the ACLU’s work fighting for reproductive freedom, racial justice, voting rights, LGBTQ equality, immigrants' rights, criminal law reform, freedom of expression, and freedom from surveillance.    

For over 100 years, the ACLU has been our nation's guardian of liberty, working in courts, legislatures, and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties that the Constitution and the laws of the United States guarantee everyone in this country.  

For questions, please email dinner@aclum.org



Cader Headshot.png

Yasmin Cader  

Yasmin Cader is a Deputy Legal Director and the Director of the Trone Center for Justice and Equality at the American Civil Liberties Union. The Trone Center encompasses the ACLU’s work on criminal and racial justice.  

In her 30+-year career as a civil rights lawyer and public defender in Washington, D.C., New York, and Los Angeles, Yasmin has represented juveniles and adults facing misdemeanor and felony charges, including clients charged with capital offenses as well as domestic and international terrorism. She also worked as a staff attorney with the Employment Litigation Section of the Department of Justice and co-founded Cader Adams Trial Lawyers, a women-owned litigation boutique in Los Angeles. Yasmin began her career as a judicial law clerk to the Honorable Damon J. Keith of the U.S. Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals.  She is a graduate of Howard University and Yale Law School.   

Yasmin currently lives in Los Angeles and, in addition to her role at the ACLU, is a leader in several programs devoted to racial justice work on a national level. 



Ryron R Headshot

Byron Rushing

Byron Rushing served in the Massachusetts House of Representatives from 1983 to 2018. He came to the House with a work background of community organizing and of Afro-American history. 

In the legislature, Byron's priorities were human and civil rights, and the development of democracy; local human, economic and housing development; and housing and health care for all. He was the House Majority Whip. He was a leader of the Commonwealth's anti-apartheid efforts and a sponsor of the Commonwealth's twinning relationship with the Province of the Eastern Cape in South Africa. He was the chief sponsor of the Massachusetts Burma law.  

He successfully sponsored legislation to create the Commission to develop a comprehensive plan to end homelessness in the Commonwealth. He sponsored the law for the over-the-counter sale of sterile needles and the law creating statewide guidelines for hospitals dealing with violence victims. He was a chief sponsor of legislation for substance abuse "treatment on demand,” He co-chaired the state's Health Disparities Council and was chief cosponsor of the law establishing a permanent disparities office in the Department of Public Health. 

Byron was an original sponsor of the gay rights bill and the chief sponsor of the law to end discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation in public schools. He was one of the leaders in the constitutional convention to maintain same sex marriage in Massachusetts.  He successfully co-sponsored the transgender civil rights bills.  

He was a spokesman against the restoration of the death penalty in Massachusetts. He lead the ongoing effort for size acceptance and anti-discrimination on the basis of height and weight; for the repeal of archaic laws; and for the revision of the Massachusetts state seal. 



To Be Announced  



2024 Host Committee 

Amy and Joshua Boger  
Nina and David Bowman 
Howard Cooper 
Lolly Delli-Bovi and William Zucker 
Ellen Paradise Fisher
Nicki Nichols Gamble
Taurean Green
Stanley N. Griffith 
Holly Gunner and Anne P. Chalmers  
Brett Hale 
Geraldine S. Hines 
Stephen Kay and Lisbeth Tarlow 
Daniele Lantagne and Jeremy Brown  
Sarah Patrick  
Carol Rose and Tom Harrington 
Ann Burks Sagan and Paul Sagan
Norma and Ben Shapiro
Thomas Shapiro and Nadine Bonda
Ambassador John Shattuck and Ellen Hume  
Bob Thomas and Polly Hoppin
Sandra Susan Smith      
Charlotte Streat
Bob Thomas and Polly Hoppin
Lauren Weitzen 
Douglass Williams    
Aja Burell Wood     
Harmony Wu 


Arnie Reisman Freedom of Expression Fund

Learn about the Arnie Reisman Freedom of Expression Fund here