Board and Foundation Directors


2021-2022 Foundation Directors

  • Nicki Nichols Gamble (Chair), former President and CEO of Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts

  • Maria Manning (Chair Emerita), consultant for Danforth Advisors

  • Kevin Prussia (Chair-elect), partner at WilmerHale

  • Naomi Aberly, political activist and civic volunteer

  • Ron Ansin, former apparel executive and banker, former Massachusetts commerce commissioner

  • Stephen Chan, Chief of Staff, Northeastern University

  • April Evans, Partner and Chief Financial Officer at Monitor Clipper Partners

  • Martin Fantozzi, Co-Managing Director at Goulston & Storrs

  • Dan Goldberg, partner and senior counsel at Morgan Lewis

  • Stephen Kay, senior director at Goldman Sachs & Co.

  • Dr. Jocelyn Sargent, Executive Strategic Consultant to the New Commonwealth Racial Equity and Social Justice Fund

  • Norma Shapiro, former legislative lobbyist and retired Legislative Director of the ACLU of Massachusetts

  • Robert M. Thomas, Jr., co-founder and managing member of the Whistleblower Law Collaborative LLC

  • Charu Verma, staff attorney at the Committee for Public Counsel Services

  • Susan Whitehead, lifetime trustee of MIT and Whitehead Institute and civic activist


Board Members

  • Kirsten Mayer, head of US Compliance for argenx (President) 
  • David G. Bowman, partner at Morgan Lewis (Vice President)
  • Kendra Albert, clinical instructor and lecturer on law at Harvard Law School, and Director of the Initiative for a Representative First Amendment
  • Kathryn Audette, social worker, licensed foster care provider, and health policy thought leader
  • Dr. Judy Bigby, senior fellow at Mathematica
  • Niko Bowie, assistant professor of law at Harvard Law School
  • Lael Chester, Director of the Emerging Adult Justice Project at Columbia University Justice Lab
  • Kate Cook, partner at Sugarman, Rogers, Barshak & Cohen
  • Emily Fish, Assistant Director of Roca, Inc.
  • Ellen Fisher, Longtime Professional Volunteer with ACLU, NARAL Pro Choice Massachusetts, Cambridge Legal Services and more
  • Dan Goldberg, partner and senior counsel at Morgan Lewis
  • Angela Gomes, partner in the Boston office of Sullivan & Worcester LLP
  • Holly Gunner, longtime LGBTQ rights activist
  • Stephen Hall, partner at Orrick
  • Justice (Ret.) Geraldine Hines, former justice of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court
  • Segun Idowu, Executive Director of the Black Economic Council of Massachusetts (BECMA)
  • Hannah L. Kilson, partner at Nolan Sheehan Patten LLP
  • Annmarie Levins, Executive Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer at the Law School Admission Council
  • Kim Marrkand, partner, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C.
  • Martin Murphy, trial lawyer at Foley Hoag LLP
  • Suma Nair, Director of the Private Client and Trust Group of Goulston & Storrs
  • Nicki Nichols Gamble, former President and CEO of Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts
  • Dr. Alexandra Piñeros Shields, executive director of the Essex County Community Organization
  • Kevin Prussia, partner at WilmerHale
  • Ronaldo Rauseo-Ricupero, litigator at Nixon Peabody LLP
  • Nancy Ryan, former Executive Director of the Cambridge Commission on the Status of Women
  • Lisa Wong, town manager of Winchester and former Mayor of Fitchburg
  • Susan Yanow, social worker and long-time reproductive rights activist
  • David Zimmer, partner in the Supreme Court and appellate litigation practice at Goodwin


Board Nomination Process

ACLU Of Massachusetts, Inc. bylaws state:

Nominations for Directors (other than the initial Directors) shall be recommended to the Board of Directors by the Nominating Committee…and shall be made by the Board of Directors after due consideration of such recommendations. Such nominations may also be made by written petition of the greater of (i) at least fifty (50) Class A Members or (ii) at least 10% of the Class A Members as of the immediately preceding July 1, in each case provided such Class A Members signing the petition shall have been Members of the Corporation for at least one (1) complete calendar year as of the immediately preceding July 1 of the election in question and such nominations shall be submitted to the President, in such form and manner as may be reasonably specified by the Board of Directors, on or before the December 31 immediately preceding the election in question. Each such nominating petition shall be accompanied by the nominee’s written confirmation of willingness to serve if elected.